

## **CONTACT**

Scott Johnson Executive Secretary Iowa FFA Association scott.johnson@iowaffa.com 515-965-7376 www.iowaffa.com

# News Release

# Agriscience Fair Winners Named at 60<sup>th</sup> State Science + Technology Fair of Iowa

AMES, IA - The Iowa FFA Agriscience Fair was held at Hilton Coliseum in Ames on Thursday, March 30, 2017. The Iowa FFA Agriscience Fair is open to 7-12 grade students. First Place winning students have the opportunity to exhibit their Agriscience research in six different categories: Animal Systems; Environment Services/Natural Resource Systems; Food Products and Processing Systems; Plant Systems; Power, Structural and Technical Systems; and Social Systems. FFA members from Iowa that are selected as a national finalist in grades 7-12 may earn the opportunity to exhibit at the National FFA Agriscience Fair in Indianapolis, Indiana, in October.

While at the National FFA Convention & Expo, students put up a display showcasing their project and interview with a panel of judges. After all students have been interviewed, national summer judging scores are then combined with convention interview scores to calculate the overall ranking of projects within each category and division. Each participant is ranked gold, silver or bronze and receives a pin. The top three projects in each category and division are recognized for their efforts on the main stage during a general convention session. During this recognition ceremony, final ranking is announced.

The top three projects in each category received medals for their achievements and each division winner will receive a plaque and be recognized at the 89<sup>th</sup> Iowa FFA Leadership Conference at Hilton Coliseum in Ames. The Agriscience Fair was made possible with support from Animal Health International through the Iowa FFA Foundation.

The results from the FFA Agriscience Fair are listed below.

###

## **About Iowa FFA Association**

The Iowa FFA Association is a youth organization of over 14,700 student members as part of 232 local FFA chapters across Iowa. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The Iowa FFA Association was organized by delegates from 23 schools at Iowa State College on May 17, 1929 and is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The Iowa Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the Iowa FFA Association online at IowaFFA.com, on Facebook, and Twitter.



# **CONTACT**

Scott Johnson Executive Secretary Iowa FFA Association scott.johnson@iowaffa.com 515-965-7376 www.iowaffa.com

Winner	Div	System Area	Chapter Name	Chapter PO	Student 1	Student 2
	1	Social	North Fayette Valley	West Union	Grace Klein	
	2	Social	Twin Cedars	Bussey	Mackynzie French	Cloee Swank
System Winner	3	Social	Maquoketa Valley	Delhi	Adam Wessels	
	6	Social	Linn-Mar	Marion	Mirannda Schneider- Kettelkamp	Caitlin Hagen
	1	Food Products & Processing	North Fayette Valley	West Union	Nathan Crooker	
System Winner	3	Food Products & Processing	Maquoketa Valley	Delhi	Shelby Westhoff	
Division Winner	4	Food Products & Processing	North Fayette Valley	West Union	Breanna Duehring	Miranda Johansen
	1	Power, Structural, & Technical	Clay Central Everly	Everly	Isaiah Wilson	
	2	Power, Structural, & Technical	North Fayette Valley	West Union	Brynn Gamm	Zach Ihde
	3	Power, Structural, & Technical	Maquoketa Valley	Delhi	Avery Tauke	
System Winner	5	Power, Structural, & Technical	Maquoketa Valley	Delhi	Megan Ertl	
System Winner	1	Animal	Grundy Center	Grundy Center	Ella Hommel	
Division Winner	2	Animal	Wayne	Corydon	Morgan Knutson	Molly Arnold
	3	Animal	Maquoketa Valley	Delhi	Owen Grover	
	5	Animal	Maquoketa Valley	Delhi	Justin Wessel	
	6	Animal	Twin Cedars	Bussey	Rachel Beary	Maddison Zellmer
System Winner (Tie) & Division Winner	1	Environmental & Natural Resources	Clay Central Everly	Everly	EmmaKay McClain	
Division Winner	3	Environmental & Natural Resources	Grundy Center	Grundy Center	Reegan	Zinkula
System Winner (Tie)	5	Environmental & Natural Resources	Maquoketa Valley	Delhi	Caitlin Kennedy	
	1	Plant	Clay Central Everly	Everly	Haley Berends	
	3	Plant	Central Lee	Donnellson	Brooklyn Pardall	
System Winner & Division Winner	5	Plant	Maquoketa Valley	Delhi	Mason Burlage	
Division Winner	6	Plant	Linn-Mar	Marion	Chase Krug	Ekta Nanda